The Regional Express Train (TER) is one of the flagship projects of the Emerging Senegal Plan (PSE) initiated by the President of the Republic, His Excellency Mr Macky Sall. The TER will link downtown Dakar to the new Blaise Diagne International Airport 57km away in 45 minutes.

Articulated with other modes of transport through a cleverly thought-out feeder system, the TER will form the backbone of transport in the Senegalese capital. The project will be carried out in two phases: a first phase going from Dakar station to Diamniadio (36km) and a second phase going from Diamniadio to the AIBD airport (19km).

The TER, a structuring project

Ter

When phase 1 comes into service, the TER will carry up to 115,000 passengers a day and will serve 13 stations and stops between the suburbs of Dakar and the new city of Diamniadio. The fourteenth (14th ) station, which is Blaise Diagne International Airport, will be served at the end of phase 2 works. ) gare, celle de l’Aéroport International Blaise Diagne sera desservie à la fin des travaux de la phase 2.

With a frequency of 6 trains per hour (one train every 10 minutes) and a top speed of 160 km/h, the TER is a mass transport system that meets international standards in terms of urban mobility. The TER Dakar - AIBD project as it is conceived today achieves socio-economic profitability.

Indeed, the socio-economic surveys completed show that Phase 1 (Dakar - Diamniadio) alone of the project achieves very good profitability with a socio-economic IRR of between 11.9% and 14.9% depending on the scenario with an Intermediate fare that brings significant benefits for the community.

In terms of employment, thousands of young Senegalese men and women will be recruited during the construction phase but also during the operational phase of the project.

The project will contribute to the creation of new trades and the emergence of new vocations in the railway sector.

Stations will also be spaces for revitalising cities in the sense that they will boost activities and encourage the emergence of related economic activities that will be grafted around the TER.

The TER, several contracts for several areas of expertise

Image rail

The implementation strategy chosen for the project was to allocate the work by area to facilitate implementation and ensure that deadlines were met.

Since 2016, the procurement process, based on the Preliminary Project Summary (PPS) studies completed by SYSTRA, has resulted in the signature of contracts for the following lots:

The M1 contract (Infrastructure) covers the detailed studies and installation work for a two-track UIC 1435 mm railway platform, the construction of the restoration works (rail bridges, road bridges, hydraulic structures, footbridges, etc.), the roads, the two (2) maintenance sites (rolling stock and infrastructure) and the station platforms.

The M2 (Systems) contract covers detailed surveys and the supply and installation of all the technical systems of the project, including railway signalling, power supply system (substation, catenaries, etc.), telecommunications, passenger information and ticketing.

The M3 contract (metric track) concerns the works to shift and renew the existing metric track intended to accommodate commercial freight operations.

The M4 contract is subdivided into two categories: the M4 A1 contract awarded to Eiffage Senegal, which concerns the renovation and development of Dakar and Rufisque stations, and the M4 A2 contract awarded to Getran, which concerns the construction of the emblematic Diamniadio station.

The M5 (Rolling Stock) contract, in its first phase, concerns an order for fifteen (15) dual-mode self-propelled trains (both electric and diesel traction) of the CORADIA brand. Each train will consist of four (4) cars and will be able to carry up to 565 passengers, offering WIFI, multimedia, comfort (1st and 2nd class), air conditioning, storage and lighting on board. A second phase will deliver an order for 7 trains.  

In 2018, it is planned to finalise the procurement process for the following lots:

  • Contract M4-B1 : Construction of Thiaroye and Keur Mbaye FALL stations;
  • Market M4-B2 : Construction of the eight Halts
  • Market M6 : Maintenance et Exploitation du TER

The main works started in 2017; With the support of and Assistance to the Contracting Authority (AMO-Systra), APIX-S.A. ensures the smooth implementation and the respect of the master schedule for a commissioning in early 2019.

Expropriation procedures and social support for people affected by the project (PAP)

Ter Region

The TER project in its first phase, crosses 18 communities/boroughs located in the departments of Dakar, Pikine and Rufisque. Single counters called "Maison TER", information and conciliation centres, have been set up in each department to receive the 12,000 people affected by the project (PAP). These PAPs were identified in accordance with the Action and Resettlement Plan (PAR), which was completed and validated by an ad-hoc committee chaired by the Minister of the Interior.

Since 2016, under the aegis of the Governor of Dakar and under the supervision of the prefects, conciliation commissions have started in the departments of Dakar, Rufisque and Pikine.

In addition, in order to ensure that the compensation package is properly appropriated and respects the principles of donor compensation (OP 4.12), facilitating structures (NGOs) have been recruited to work in each TER House and to provide good support to the PAPs.

In order to ensure acceptance of the project by the local population, a collaborative process was initiated with the local authorities and administrative authorities through the holding of several information and awareness-raising meetings in all the boroughs impacted by the project.

In addition, a vast social support programme, which is an additional process to the PAPs' compensation, was initiated upstream with the local communities and administrative authorities. In addition to the implementation of several related developments, social support aims to strengthen the social and economic capacities of the actors impacted by the project.

At the same time, the related developments provided for in this programme may contribute to the development of economic activities in the municipalities crossed.

Committed partners and financing secured

As for the works, the financing scheme of the project was allocated between different donors in order to cover the different lots independently.

In 2016, the approvals of the Boards of Directors of AFD and the French Treasury were received and a financing agreement was signed with IDB.

The first disbursements were effective in 2017 after the signature of the financing agreements between the State of Senegal , AFD and the AfDB.

The significant contribution of these multiple donors to the construction of this structuring project undeniably shows their support and acceptance of the project which will form the basis of urban transport for future generations.

With the TER, it is Time for Action.
en_US

Adressez-vous à un spécialiste
icon

Le Train Express Régional (TER) est l’un des projets phares du Plan Sénégal Emergent (PSE) initiés par le Président de la République, Son Excellence Monsieur Macky Sall. Le TER reliera le centre ville de Dakar au nouvel aéroport International Blaise Diagne situé à 57km, en 45 minutes.

Articulé avec d’autres modes de transport par un système de rabattement intelligemment pensé, le TER constituera l’épine dorsale du transport dans la capitale Sénégalaise. Le projet sera réalisé en deux phases : une première phase allant de la gare de Dakar à Diamniadio (36km) et une seconde phase allant de Diamniadio à l’aéroport AIBD (19km).

Le TER, un projet structurant

Ter

A la mise en service de la phase 1, le TER transportera jusqu’à 115 000 passagers par jour et desservira 13 gares et haltes entre la banlieue de Dakar, et la nouvelle ville de Diamniadio. La quatorzième (14ème ) gare, celle de l’Aéroport International Blaise Diagne sera desservie à la fin des travaux de la phase 2.

Avec une fréquence de 6 trains par heure (un train toutes les 10 minutes) et une vitesse de pointe de 160 Km/h, le TER s’inscrit comme un transport de masse qui respecte les standards internationaux en terme de mobilité urbaine. Le projet TER Dakar – AIBD tel que conçu aujourd’hui atteint la rentabilité socio-économique.

En effet, les études socio-économiques bouclées montrent que la Phase 1 (Dakar – Diamniadio) seule du projet atteint une très bonne rentabilité avec un TRI socio-économique compris entre 11,9 % et 14,9 % selon les scenarios avec un tarif Intermédiaire qui apporte des bénéfices importants pour la collectivité.

En terme d’emploi, des milliers de jeunes sénégalais et sénégalaises seront recrutés durant la phase de construction mais aussi durant la phase exploitation du projet.

Le projet contribuera à la création de nouveaux métiers et à l’éclosion de nouvelles vocations dans le milieu ferroviaire.

Les gares seront aussi des espaces de revitalisation des villes dans le sens où elles dynamiseront les activités et favoriseront l’émergence d’activités économiques connexes qui viendront se greffer autour du TER.

Le TER, plusieurs marchés pour plusieurs domaines d’expertise

Image rail

La stratégie de mise en œuvre retenue pour le projet a été d’allotir les travaux par domaine afin de faciliter l’implémentation et de garantir un respect des délais de réalisation.

Depuis 2016, le processus de passation des marchés, basé sur les études Avant-Projet Sommaire (APS) bouclées par la société SYSTRA, a abouti à la signature des contrats des lots suivants :

Le marché M1 (Infrastructures) concerne les études détaillées et les travaux d’installation d’une plateforme ferroviaire de deux voies UIC 1435 mm, la construction des ouvrages de rétablissement (ponts rails, ponts routes, ouvrages hydrauliques, passerelles …), des voiries, des deux (2) sites de maintenance (matériel roulant et infrastructures) et des quais des gares.

Le marché M2 (Systèmes) concerne les études détaillées et la fourniture et l’installation de tous les systèmes techniques du projet comprenant la signalisation ferroviaire, le système d’alimentation électrique (sous-station, caténaires…), la télécommunication, l’information voyageur et la billettique.

Le marché M3 (Voie métrique) concerne les travaux de ripage et de renouvellement de la voie métrique existante destinée à accueillir l’exploitation commerciale du frêt.

Le marché M4 est subdivisé en deux catégories : le M4 A1 confié à Eiffage Sénégal, qui porte sur la rénovation et l’aménagement des gares de Dakar et Rufisque et le M4 A2 réalisé par Getran, qui concerne la réalisation de la gare emblématique de Diamniadio.

Le marché M5 (Matériel Roulant), concerne dans sa première phase, une commande de quinze (15) trains automotrices bi-mode (à la fois une traction électrique et diesel) de marque CORADIA. Chaque train sera composé de quatre (4) voitures et pourra transporter jusqu’à 565 passagers en offrant des services de WIFI, multimédia, confort (1er et 2e classe), climatisation, rangement et éclairage à bord. Une seconde phase livrera une commande de 7 trains.

En 2018, il est prévu la finalisation du processus de passation des marchés des lots suivants :

  • Marché M4-B1 : Construction Gares de Thiaroye et de Keur Mbaye FALL ;
  • Marché M4-B2 : Construction des huit Haltes
  • Marché M6 : Maintenance et Exploitation du TER

Les travaux ont démarré depuis 2017 ; Avec l’appui d’une Assistance à Maitrise d’Ouvrage Travaux (AMO- Systra), APIX-S.A. s’assure du bon déroulement de la mise en œuvre et du respect du planning directeur pour une mise en service en début 2019.

La libération des emprises et l’accompagnement social des personnes affectées par le projet (PAP)

Ter Region

Le projet TER dans sa première phase, traverse 18 communes situées dans les départements de Dakar, Pikine et Rufisque. Des guichets uniques appelés « Maison TER », espaces d’informations et de conciliation, ont été mis en place dans chaque département, pour recevoir les 12 000 Personnes Affectées par le Projet (PAP). Ces PAP ont été recensées conformément au Plan d’Action et de Réinstallation (PAR) bouclé et validé en comité ad-hoc présidé par le Ministre de l’Intérieur.

Depuis 2016, sous l’égide du Gouverneur de Dakar et sur la supervision des préfets, les commissions de conciliations ont débuté dans les départements de Dakar, de Rufisque et de Pikine.

De plus, pour une bonne appropriation du package d’indemnisations qui respecte les principes d’indemnisations des bailleurs de fonds (OP 4.12), des structures facilitatrices (ONG) ont été recrutées pour travailler dans chaque Maison TER et pour assurer un bon accompagnement des PAPs.

Dans un souci d’acceptation du projet par les populations, un processus collaboratif a été initié avec les collectivités locales et les autorités administratives à travers la tenue de plusieurs rencontres d’information et de sensibilisation dans toutes les communes impactées par le projet.

Par ailleurs, un vaste programme d’accompagnement social, qui est un processus additionnel aux indemnisations des PAPs, a été initié en amont avec les collectivités locales et les autorités administratives. En plus de la réalisation de plusieurs aménagements connexes, l’accompagnement social vise à renforcer les capacités sociales et économiques des acteurs impactés par le projet.

Parallèlement, les aménagements connexes prévus dans ce programme pourront contribuer à l’essor des activités économiques dans les communes traversées.

Des partenaires engagés et un financement bouclé

Comme pour les travaux, le schéma de financement du projet a été alloti entre différents bailleurs de fonds afin de couvrir les différents lots indépendamment.

En 2016, les approbations des Conseils d’administration de l’AFD et du Trésor français ont été reçues et une convention de financement a été signée avec la BID.

Les premiers décaissements ont été effectifs en 2017 après la signature des conventions de financement entre l’Etat du Sénégal et l’AFD et la BAD.

La contribution significative de ces multiples bailleurs à l’édification de ce projet structurant, montre indéniablement une adhésion et une acceptation du projet, qui constituera le socle du transport urbain pour les futures générations.

Avec le TER, c’est le Temps de l’Action.
Top