SECTOR PROFILE

IMG-SP1

The Senegalese economy is mainly based on the agricultural sector, which employs more than 60% of the active population. In this regard, the State of Senegal has implemented important programmes to improve, strengthen and modernise the agricultural production base through the policies defined in the Emerging Senegalese Plan (PSE), in its PRACAS component (Programme d'accélération de la cadence de l'Agriculture Sénégalaise), which aims at self-sufficiency in rice, among other objectives.

Thanks to abundant water resources and arable land suitable for agricultural production, the potential of Senegalese agriculture is widely recognised, particularly in the cereal and horticultural sectors. The success stories of recent years are ample proof of the existing capacity of Senegalese and foreign private operators.

Senegalese agriculture is mainly :

  • nearly 4 million hectares (19% of the country's surface area), unevenly distributed in the eco-geographical zones
  • Agricultural development only covers 65% of this land annually, i.e. about 2.5 million hectares;
  • 98% of this land is cultivated under rainy conditions, leading to an agricultural activity that is highly exposed to climatic hazards.

Agriculture is the fundamental pillar of Senegal's development policy, which brings together all the favourable conditions for the development of a competitive agriculture that ensures food security and important export flows to high-value markets. Specifically, the field of horticulture -fruits and vegetables- presents, in the current context, the best assets in terms of growth and creation of added value.
The range of food, industrial and horticultural agricultural products is wide and offers many confirmed opportunities for Senegalese agriculture. These products include groundnuts and oilseeds, rice, cereals (maize, millet, sorghum), onions, industrial tomatoes, horticultural exports, etc.

However, in order to really and significantly accelerate the pace in a context of scarce financial resources, the Government of Senegal has chosen to make an effort to prioritise. Thus, the Government, together with all stakeholders, intends to concentrate and boost its agricultural investments in products that are highly strategic for Senegal, affecting the entire rural world, namely rice, onions, groundnuts and off-season fruits and vegetables.

The aim is to achieve an export volume of more than 200,000 tonnes of fruit and vegetables in the medium term, through the expansion of the diversity of "Origin Senegal" products. Another ambition for Senegalese horticulture, in particular, is to contribute to national self-sufficiency in market garden products.

 

COMPARATIVE ADVANTAGES

IMG-SP2

Senegal is one of the sub-Saharan African countries closest to the major European markets. With abundant land and water resources suitable for agricultural production, the potential of agriculture in Senegal is widely recognised. Successful models in recent years have proven the existing capacity of Senegalese and foreign private operators on the local and export markets, especially for horticultural production.

The climatic and soil conditions across the country provide an excellent environment for agricultural production, especially horticulture.
Several positive factors determine Senegal's competitiveness in agriculture, especially in off-season export horticulture, namely :

  • Hydro-agricultural developments in the Senegal River Valley and Anambé / Private investment in productive equipment and infrastructure on the rise;
  • Agro-ecological conditions very favourable to the development of three cropping seasons;
  • Advantageous geographical location in relation to the main export markets;
  • Very favourable oceanic climate on the country's coastal strip (Littoral and Senegal River Valley) and favourable to off-season crops;
  • Several types of soil suitable for cereal and horticultural crops;
  • Important water potential underused in some areas of the country: 4 million ha of arable land equivalent to 385 ha per 1000 inhabitants, the world average being 86 ha per 1000 inhabitants;
  • 35 billion m3 of renewable surface water and 4 billion m3 of groundwater;
  • a renewed interest in Senegalese origin for crops such as green beans, cherry tomatoes and sweet corn.

STRATEGIC POSITIONING OF SENEGAL

IMG-SP3

For several years, Senegalese agriculture has embarked on a major diversification policy, particularly with regard to the development and promotion of export crops. Today, thanks to the modernisation and diversification of production, Senegal has experienced a regular increase in volumes over the last ten years, but also a diversification of the range of products and destination markets, which has ensured a quasi-permanent presence of Senegalese horticultural products on the export markets.

There are clear investment opportunities for private investors in the modernisation of agricultural practices, in the infrastructure platform (post-harvest facilities, cold chains, etc.), and in marketing, notably

  • Off-season export horticulture: various strengths, including the existence of a wide range of opportunities in well-identified niches and the possibility of making different speculations in the fruit and vegetable sector throughout the year (sweet corn, cherry tomatoes, melons, etc.)
  • Cereal crops (rice, wheat, etc.);
  • Post-harvest infrastructure: transport, packaging, storage;
  • Production and marketing of inputs: fertilisers, seeds, phytosanitary products;
  • Production and marketing of inputs: fertilisers, seeds, phytosanitary products;
  • Processing industries (fresh, manufactured), dried fruits etc.);
  • Agricultural and hydro-agricultural developments;
  • Proven investment opportunities in the modernisation of agricultural practices, in the infrastructure platform (post-harvest facilities, cold chains, etc.), and in marketing.

Export horticulture, for example, enjoys a number of advantages, including the existence of a wide range of opportunities in well identified niches and the possibility of making different speculations in the fruit and vegetable chain throughout the year. Sweet corn, in particular, has become one of the main export products along withcherry tomatoes, as well as melons, which are also growing exponentially with an increasingly long marketing window.
Cut flowers and decorative foliage also constitute a range of export products that are currently under-exploited in Senegal.

en_US

Adressez-vous à un spécialiste
icon

PORTRAIT DU SECTEUR

IMG-SP1

L’économie sénégalaise repose principalement sur le secteur de l’agriculture qui occupe plus de 60% de la population active. Sous ce rapport, l’Etat du Sénégal, a mis en œuvre d’importants programmes d’amélioration, de renforcement et de modernisation de la base de production agricole à travers les politiques définies dans le Plan Sénégal Emergent (PSE) , dans sa composante PRACAS (Programme d’accélération de la cadence de l’Agriculture Sénégalaise) , qui vise l’autosuffisance en riz, entre autres objectifs.

Grâce notamment à d’abondantes ressources hydriques et des terres arables propices à la production agricole, le potentiel de l’agriculture sénégalaise est largement reconnu, notamment dans les filières céréalières et horticoles. Les modèles de réussite des dernières années prouvent à suffisance la capacité existante des exploitants privés sénégalais et étrangers.

L’Agriculture sénégalaise c’est principalement :

  • prés de 4 millions d’hectares (19% de la superficie du pays), inégalement répartis dans les zones éco-géographiques ;
  • des mises en valeur agricoles ne portent annuellement que sur 65% de ces terres, soit environ 2.5 millions d’hectares ;
  • 98% de ces terres cultivées sous pluie, induisant une activité agricole fortement exposée aux aléas climatiques.

L’agriculture constitue le pilier fondamental de la politique de développement du Sénégal qui réunit toutes les conditions favorables à l’essor d’une agriculture compétitive assurant la sécurité alimentaire et d’importants flux d’exportation vers des marchés de haute valeur. Spécifiquement, le domaine de l’horticulture -fruits et légumes- présente, dans le contexte actuel, les meilleurs atouts en termes de croissance et de création de valeur ajoutée.
La gamme de produits agricoles vivriers, industriels et horticoles est large et constitue pour l’agriculture du Sénégal de nombreuses opportunités confirmées. Parmi ces produits, on peut retenir l’arachide et la filière oléagineuse, le riz, les céréales (maïs, mil, sorgho), l’oignon, la tomate industrielle, les produits horticoles d’exportation, etc.

Toutefois, pour accélérer réellement et significativement la cadence dans un contexte de raréfaction des ressources financières, le Gouvernement du Sénégal a choisi de faire un effort de priorisation. Ainsi, le Gouvernement avec toutes les parties prenantes compte concentrer et booster ses investissements agricoles dans des produits hautement stratégiques pour le Sénégal touchant la totalité du monde rural à savoir le riz, l’oignon, l’arachide et les fruits et légumes de contre-saison.

L’objectif visé étant, notamment, de réaliser un volume d’exportation de plus de 200 000 tonnes de fruits et légumes, dans un horizon temporel à moyen terme, à travers l’élargissement de la diversité des produits « Origine Sénégal». Une autre ambition pour l’horticulture sénégalaise, en particulier, est de contribuer à l’autosuffisance en produits maraîchers sur le plan national.

AVANTAGES COMPARATIFS

IMG-SP2

Le Sénégal est l’un des pays d’Afrique Subsaharienne les plus proches des grands marchés européens. Grâce notamment à d’abondantes ressources en terres propices à la production agricole et en eau, le potentiel de l’agriculture au Sénégal est largement reconnu. Les modèles de réussite des dernières années ont prouvé la capacité existante des exploitants privés sénégalais et étrangers sur le marché local et à l’export, notamment pour la production horticole.

Les conditions climatiques et pédologiques, à travers le pays, présentent un excellent environnement pour la production agricole, notamment horticole.
Plusieurs facteurs positifs déterminent la compétitivité du Sénégal dans l’agriculture, plus particulièrement dans l’horticulture d’exportation en contre-saison, à savoir :

  • Aménagements hydro-agricoles dans la Vallée du Fleuve Sénégal et l’Anambé / Investissements privés dans les équipements et infrastructures productifs en hausse ;
  • Conditions agro-écologiques très favorables au développement de trois saisons culturales ;
  • Situation géographique avantageuse par rapport aux principaux marchés d’exportation ;
  • climat océanique très favorable sur la bande côtière du pays (Littoral et Vallée du fleuve Sénégal) et propice aux cultures de contre-saison ;
  • plusieurs types de sols adaptés aux cultures céréalières et horticoles ;
  • potentiel hydrique important sous-utilisé dans certaines zones du pays: 4 millions ha de terres arableséquivalent à 385 ha pour 1000 habitants, la moyenne mondiale étant de 86 ha pour 1000 habitants ;
  • 35 milliards de m3 d’eaux de surface renouvelables et 4 milliards de m3 d’eaux souterraines ;
  • un regain d’intérêt pour l’origine Sénégal pour les spéculations telles que le haricot vert, la tomate cerise ou le mais doux.

 

POSITIONNEMENT STRATEGIQUE DU SENEGAL

IMG-SP3

L’agriculture sénégalaise s’est lancée depuis plusieurs années dans une importante politique de diversification, portant notamment sur le développement et la promotion des cultures d’exportation. Aujourd’hui, grâce à la modernisation et la diversification de la production, le Sénégal connaît, depuis une dizaine d’années, une augmentation régulière des volumes, mais aussi une diversification de la gamme des produits et des marchés de destination, ce qui a permis d’assurer une présence des produits horticoles sénégalais sur les marchés d’exportation de façon quasi-permanente.

Des opportunités d’investissement avérées existent pour les investisseurs privés dans la modernisation des pratiques agricoles, dans la plateforme infrastructurelle (installations post-récolte, chaînes de froid, etc.), et dans la commercialisation, notamment :

  • Horticulture d’exportation de contre-saison : divers atouts, notamment l’existence d’un large choix d’opportunités dans des niches bien identifiées et la possibilité de faire différentes spéculations dans la filière des fruits et légumes tout au long de l’année (maïs doux, tomate-cerise, melon, etc.)
  • Cultures céréalières (Riz, Blé, etc.) ;
  • Infrastructures post-récolte: transport, conditionnement, stockage ;
  • Production et commercialisation d’intrants : engrais, semences, produits phytosanitaires ;
  • Production et commercialisation de matériel agricole ;
  • Industries de transformation (frais, manufacturés), fruits secs etc.) ;
  • Aménagements agricoles et hydro-agricoles ;
  • Opportunités d’investissement avérées dans la modernisation des pratiques agricoles, dans la plateformeinfrastructures (installations post-récolte, chaînes de froid, etc.), et dans la commercialisation.

L’horticole d’exportation, par exemple, jouit de divers atouts, notamment l’existence d’un large choix d’opportunités dans des niches bien identifiées et la possibilité de faire différentes spéculations dans la filière des fruits et légumes tout au long de l’année. Le maïs doux, en particulier, est devenu un des principaux produits d’exportation avec
la tomate-cerise, ainsi que le melon, qui connaît également une croissance exponentielle avec une fenêtre de commercialisation de plus en plus longue.

Les fleurs coupées et le feuillage décoratif constituent, par ailleurs, une gamme de produits d’exportation pour le moment sous-exploités au Sénégal.

Top