SECTOR PROFILE

IMG-SP3

Rice is a strategic sector for food security and nutrition in Senegal. Under the impetus of the Government, the sector has undergone a clear consolidation in recent years, with a considerable increase in production volumes.

Rice occupies a prominent place in the consumption habits of the Senegalese population. Moreover, population growth and increasing urbanisation have significantly increased the consumption needs of this commodity, leading Senegal to resort to massive imports, which reached a net value of 207.6billion CFA francs in 2019, i.e. 957, 729 tonnes imported (source: NACE (Note d'Analyse de la Conjoncture Economique), 2019)... with an average consumption of 80 kg/year per capita, which makes Senegal one of the largest consumers of rice in Africa.

Rice alone accounts for almost 10% of the balance of trade and this phenomenon tends to increase over time, as national production is growing less quickly than consumption, which it only partially covers. Rice cultivation, which is practised under rain or irrigation, is a national issue and is arousing growing enthusiasm among producers, despite the economic difficulties.

The Programme for the Acceleration of Senegalese Agriculture (PRACAS) aims to achieve self-sufficiency in rice, among other objectives. PRACAS is being implemented to promote the production of high-quality white rice in Senegal, with a short-term target of 1.8 million tonnes, including 1.6 million tonnes of paddy rice. The total cost of the PRACAS is approximately 74 billion CFA francs.

The gap that needs to be filled to satisfy national demand for white rice is covered by imports, which weigh heavily on Senegal's trade balance and pose a real problem of food sovereignty.

To reverse this trend, the State authorities have launched the Programme d'Accélération de la Cadence de l'Agriculture Sénégalaise (PRACAS), which, in its rice component, aims at boosting rice production in all production areas (Senegal’s River Valley, Anambé Basin, rainfed rice-growing areas).

Thus, the promotion of local rice production to meet national demand is a strategic option for the State, reinforced by the uncertainties of the international rice market and the exceptional potential of Senegal's natural resources (abundance of water resources, land suitable for rice cultivation, favourable climate favouring two crops per year).

Rice imports fell significantly between 2016 and 2015 (- 2.77% in volume), thanks in particular to the qualitative and quantitative leap made by local producers, which considerably offset the significant need for imports, mainly from South East Asia. In addition, the consumption habits of the Senegalese population have recently shown a strong tendency to consume local broken rice, with local producers now having a real mastery of innovative agro-industrial transformation processes. COMPARATIVE ADVANTAGES

IMG-SP5

Thanks in particular to abundant land and water resources suitable for agricultural production, the potential of agriculture in Senegal is widely recognised, especially in the rice sector. The success stories of recent years provide ample evidence of the existing capacity of Senegalese and foreign private farmers in rice production. The climatic and soil conditions throughout the country provide an excellent environment for rice production:

  • the natural environment gives Senegal a proven advantage over many countries, including some exporting countries of which Senegal is a client (climatic instability in South-East Asia, etc.);
  • since its introduction, rice growing poduction has aroused ever-increasing interest among farmers. This interest has continued to grow, regardless of the status and motivations of the producer, the rice-growing ecosystems and the cropping systems, and in spite of cyclical difficulties;
  • a synergy has been established with development structures, leading, among other things, to the introduction of high-yielding plant material (Sahel varieties)
  • economically, the cost of local rice has become competitive with that of imported rice, and there is still room for improvement. At the same time, quality has improved significantly, increasing its demand at the national level.

STRATEGIC POSITIONING OF SENEGAL

IMG-SP1

Rice growing is an important part of Senegal's socio-economic development, underpinned by agricultural production in quantity and quality. A controlled and efficient local production would allow Senegal to enjoy proven opportunities on both domestic and foreign markets.

The creation of an attractive business environment to attract the interest of the private sector in the development of the rice sector, the production of quality rice, the increase in productivity and rice production in order to achieve self-sufficiency are major challenges to be taken up by the State of Senegal and the stakeholdersactors of the sector.

The climate is conducive to the double rotation of rice crops, the gradual return of multilateral technical and financial partners who are investing more and more in rice growing, and the current context of the international rice market are major opportunities to be seized.

Optimising the distribution of local rice necessarily involves adapting production to the requirements of the Senegalese consumer. Today, rice imports are conditioned by the very volatile price of rice, to which must be added banking conditions, and these factors play a major role in the setting of prices by importers. In view of the importance and dynamism of the domestic market, there are real opportunities for investment in the sector, in particular

In the development of agro-industrial units for the production of paddy rice;

In the end, self-sufficiency in rice appears to be an issue of: food sovereignty and security, aiming in particular at reducing the trade balance deficit.

en_US

Adressez-vous à un spécialiste
icon

PORTRAIT DU SECTEUR

IMG-SP3

Le riz est une filière stratégique pour la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition au Sénégal. Sous l’impulsion du Gouvernement, la filière a connu une nette consolidation ces dernières années, avec un accroissement considérable des volumes de production.

Le riz occupe une place de choix dans les habitudes de consommation des populations sénégalaises. De plus, l’accroissement démographique et l’urbanisation croissante ont augmenté significativement les besoins de consommation de cette denrée, amenant le Sénégal à recourir à des importations massives qui ont atteint une valeur nette de 189, 27 milliards FCFA en 2016 soit 966 498 tonnes importées (source : NACE (Note d’Analyse de la Conjoncture Economique) , 2016), avec une consommation en moyenne de 80 kg/an par habitant, ce qui fait du Sénégal l’un des plus grands consommateurs de riz en Afrique.

Le riz constitue à lui seul, près de 10% de la balance commerciale et ce phénomène a tendance à s’ampli er dans le temps car la production nationale progresse moins vite que la consommation qu’elle ne couvre qu’en partie. Pratiquée sous pluie ou sous irrigation, la riziculture, enjeu national, suscite chez les producteurs un engouement croissant, malgré les difficultés conjoncturelles.

Le Programme d’accélération de la cadence de l’agriculture sénégalaise (PRACAS) vise l’autosuffisance du en riz, parmi d’autres objectifs. Le PRACAS est mis en œuvre pour favoriser la production de riz blanc de très bonne qualité au Sénégal, avec un objectif de 1,8 million de tonnes, dont 1,6 million de riz paddy, à court terme. Le coût total du PRACAS est d’environ 74 milliards de francs CFA.

Le gap à combler, pour satisfaire la demande nationale en riz blanc, est couvert par les importations qui pèsent lourdement sur la balance commerciale du Sénégal et pose, dans la foulée, un réel problème de souveraineté alimentaire.

Pour inverser cette tendance, les Autorités étatiques ont lancé le Programme d’Accélération de la Cadence de l’Agriculture Sénégalaise (PRACAS) qui, dans sa composante riz, vie à booster la production rizicole dans toutes les zones de production (Vallée du fleuve Sénégal, Bassin de l’Anambé, zones rizicoles exploitées en pluvial).

Ainsi, la promotion de la riziculture locale pour satisfaire la demande nationale relève d’une option stratégique de l’Etat, confortée par les incertitudes du marché international du riz et les potentialités exceptionnelles dont dispose le Sénégal en ressources naturelles (abondance de ressources hydriques, terres aptes à la riziculture, climat favorable favorisant deux cultures par an).

Les importations de riz ont connu une baisse sensible entre 2016 et 2015 ( – 2,77% en volume), grâce notamment à la montée en gamme et au saut qualitatif et quantitatif effectuée par les producteurs locaux qui permet de pallier considérablement les besoins significatifs en importations, principalement d’Asie du sud-est. A cela s’ajoute les habitudes de consommation de la population sénégalaise avec une forte tendance récente à consommer du riz local brisé, les producteurs locaux ayant maintenant une réelle maitrise des process agroindustriels de transformation innovants .

AVANTAGES COMPARATIFS

IMG-SP5

Grâce notamment à d’abondantes ressources en terres propices à la production agricole et en eau, le potentiel de l’agriculture au Sénégal est largement reconnu, notamment dans la filière riz. Les modèles de réussite des dernières années prouvent à suffisance la capacité existante des exploitants privés sénégalais et étrangers dans la riziculture. Les conditions climatiques et pédologiques, à travers le pays, présentent un excellent environnement pour la production rizicole :

  • le milieu naturel confère au Sénégal un avantage avéré par rapport à de nombreux pays, y compris certains pays exportateurs dont le Sénégal est client (instabilité climatique en Asie du sud-est, etc.) ;
  • la riziculture a suscité, depuis son introduction, un intérêt toujours croissant chez les agriculteurs. Cette adhésion n’a cessé de se confirmer quels que soient le statut et les motivations du producteur, les écosystèmes rizicoles et les systèmes de culture, et malgré les difficultés conjoncturelles ;
  • une synergie a été établie avec les structures de développement aboutissant, entre autres, à l’introduction de matériel végétal à haut potentiel de rendement (les variétés Sahel)
  • au plan économique, le coût de revient du riz local est devenu compétitif par rapport à celui du riz importé, et des marges de progrès existent encore. Dans le même temps, la qualité s’est beaucoup améliorée, accroissant ainsi sa demande au niveau national.

POSITIONNEMENT STRATEGIQUE DU SENEGAL

IMG-SP1

La riziculture constitue un pan important du développement socio-économique au Sénégal sous-tendu par une production agricole en quantité et en qualité. Une production locale maîtrisée et performante permettrait au Sénégal de jouir d’opportunités avérées sur des marchés solvables aussi bien intérieurs qu’extérieurs.

La création d’un environnement attractif pour susciter l’intérêt du secteur privé dans le développement de la filière riz, la production d’un riz de qualité, l’augmentation de la productivité et de la production rizicole en vue de parvenir à l’autosuffisance constituent des dé s majeurs à relever par l’Etat du Sénégal et les acteurs de la filière.

Le climat propice à la double rotation des cultures du riz, le retour progressif des partenaires techniques et financiers multilatéraux qui investissent de plus en plus dans la riziculture et le contexte actuel du marché international du riz constituent de grandes opportunités à saisir.

L’optimisation de la distribution du riz local passe nécessairement par une adaptation de la production aux exigences du consommateur sénégalais. Aujourd’hui les importations de riz sont conditionnées par les cours très volatiles du riz, à cela s’ajoutent les conditions bancaires et ces facteurs jouent beaucoup dans la fixation des prix par les importateurs. Au vu de l’importance et du dynamisme du marché domestique, il existe de réelles opportunités d’investissement dans la filière, et ce, notamment :

• Dans le développement d’unités agroindustrielles de production de riz paddy ;
• Dans la transformation du riz destiné à la consommation, suivant des modèles intégrés.

Au final, l’autosuffisance en riz apparaît comme un enjeu de : souveraineté et de sécurité alimentaires visant notamment réduction du dé cit de la balance commerciale.

Top